Public file sharing, also known as ad-hoc file transfer or person-to-person file transfer, allows a user to take any file or folder and generate a unique, time-limited, public link to that item and share it with anyone.
The user can optionally password protect a public share link so that access to the link requires a password. The administrator can mandate this requirement if they wish.
In addition, public folder shares can be granted upload permission as well. This will allow anyone with access to the link to upload files or folders to the public share. The administrator must grant this permission for the user’s folders before a folder can be publicly shared and allow uploads.
Benefits over email include:
- Administrators have visibility and control over the data moving into and out of the business.
- Large attachments won’t burden email servers or exceed mailbox quotas.
- Files are transferred with strong encryption and can be password protected.
- Increased productivity. No more wasted time figuring out how to send a file to someone.
The administrator has full control over public file sharing. Before a user can share a file publicly, the administrator has to grant explicit sharing privileges to that user’s virtual folder. Once granted permission, users can share files or entire folders.
Note: You can bypass the email options on the share wizard by simply clicking the “Create Share” button.
Creating a Public Share
In Cerberus FTP server version 13.2 a user or client now has the option to create One Time Password (OTP) protected public shares. This feature allows greater control over who can access shared content by confirming a guest’s identity via an email message. For instructions on how to create a One Time Password share, see Creating a new OTP Public Share
- Navigate to the folder you want to share.
- Select the grey expand icon to the far right of the folder name. This will open an options section.
- Press the Share button to bring up the public file sharing dialog. The button will only work if the user has permission to create shares. If not the user will not be able to click on the button. Public File Share Dialog - Never expires
- Decide how long the file or folder should be available. When the Administrator has NOT set a Maximum Share Duration, the options are Use Specific Date and Never Expires as shown above in the ‘Public File Share Duration’ screenshot. Selecting Never Expires means the public share will never expire and can be used as a permanent link if you wish. However, if your Cerberus administrator sets a 'Maximum Share Duration' clicking Use Max Date will set the date and time to the maximum value allowed by the Administrator at the time the share is actually created; while in the Wizard, the date field will show an “estimated” expiration. If you decided to set a specific date for expiry, this is the date that will be used if you select the 'Delete Shared Files on Expiration' as seen in the next window, 'Options'.
Public File Share Dialog - Use Max Date
Public File Share Dialog - Enable Hidden Uploads to this folder
- The 'Specify Link Password' field allows you to set a password that anyone clicking on the link must enter before being allowed access. (This field is optional by default and can be left blank if passwords are not required, but admins can make setting passwords mandatory in 'User Manager' > 'Public Shares')
- Click 'Next' to continue to the 'Options' page
- Depending on whether you are sharing a file or a folder and the user's share settings, will determine what options are presented on this page.
Allow Public Downloads
This option is enabled by default when sharing a file. For folders, when checked, allows files in the shared folder to be downloaded.
Allow Public Uploads to this folder When sharing a folder, files can be uploaded to the shared folder. Enable Hidden Uploads to this folder For public uploads, this allows users to create a public share link that enables recipients to upload files while not seeing or downloading the files that anyone else has uploaded. Notify me by email when a file is downloaded or uploaded
Users can select to receive an email if a file is downloaded or uploaded from a public share. Users can choose from:
No Notification - Users will not be notified when the file is accessed or when a file is uploaded or downloaded from the folder.
On first access- You are only notified the first time the file is accessed or a file is uploaded or downloaded from a folder.
On interval - Notifications will be collated and sent as one email on this interval if any are present at that time.
Delete Shared Files on Expiration
This option enables the automatic deletion of the contents of a public share when the share itself has expired.
- Press the Create Share button to generate a unique URL or Next if you wish to send an Email.
Emailing a Public Share Link
Once you enable “Send Share link via Email” on the Email panel, you will be able to set your email settings as desired. You can click on the CC and BCC link to open those fields and add multiple emails to the share link using the address book or entering the address. We have added validation to your email addresses and will automatically add sent emails to your address book.
Web client users are able to set up an Email Address Book by adding contacts manually or by importing a CSV file to easily select saved addresses. Once you are in the web client, you will want to select 'Account' at the top right, then select 'Addresses' at the bottom.
Revoking Public File or Folder Access
If your conditions warrant a change in accessing a file or folder. You can instantly revoke access to a shared file or folder. All changes take effect instantly.
To revoke access to a previously shared file or folder in the web client, navigate to ‘Share’ and click the down arrow. Click the Revoke button to revoke the share.
Revoke a Public Share from the Shared page